UPSC Eligibility Criteria in Hindi and English

IAS Eligibility in Hindi: योग्यता


  • IAS, IPS एवं IFS के लिए उम्मीदवार का भारतीय नागरिक होना अनिवार्य है।
  • IAS, IPS एवं IFS के अतिरिक्त पदों के लिए
  • भारत का नागरिक हो या
  • नेपाल का नागरिक हो या
  • भूटान का नागरिक हो या
  • एक शरणार्थी जो 1 जनवरी 1962 से पहले भारत में स्थाई रूप से रह हो।


  • किसी राज्य या केंद्रीय विश्वविद्यालय अथवा डीम्ड विश्वविद्यालय द्वारा स्नातक
  • दूरस्थ शिक्षा के माध्यम से प्राप्त स्नातक डिग्री
  • Open University से प्राप्त स्नातक डिग्री
  • छात्र जो स्नातक के अंतिम वर्ष में है, वह भी सिविल सेवा के लिए आवेदन कर सकते हैं। लेकिन मुख्य परीक्षा में शामिल होने से पहले उन्हें आवेदन पत्र के साथ स्नातक डिग्री संलग्न करना आवश्यक है।

Age Limit

सामान्य श्रेणी के उम्मीदवार के लिए       – 21 से 32 बर्ष

OBC श्रेणी के उम्मीदवार के लिए          – 21 से 32 बर्ष +Years with relaxation of 03 years

SC/ST श्रेणी के उम्मीदवार के लिए        – 21 से 32 बर्ष +Years with relaxation of 05 years


सामान्य श्रेणी के उम्मीदवार के लिए        – 6

ओबीसी श्रेणी के उम्मीदवार के लिए       – 9

SC ST श्रेणी के उम्मीदवार के लिए         – No Limit

UPSC Pattern

सिविल सेवा परीक्षा तीन चरणों में संपन्न होती है, इसका Notification जनवरी-फरवरी में आता है। और इसके आवेदन फरवरी-मार्च तक होते हैं, एवं प्रारंभिक परीक्षा का एग्जाम जून में होता है। 

सिविल सेवा प्रारंभिक परीक्षा में 2 पेपर होते हैं-

  1. सामान्य अध्ययन 
  2. सीसैट (CSAT)

दूसरे चरण में Mains Exam होता है, इस में पहुंचने के लिए पहले आपको सिविल सेवा प्रारंभिक परीक्षा को पास करना अनिवार्य है।

फिर मुख्य परीक्षा उत्तीर्ण करने के पश्चात इंटरव्यू के लिए बुलाया जाता है, फिर इंटरव्यू में पास अभ्यर्थी को रिक्तियों व प्राप्तांक के हिसाब से मेरिट लिस्ट में स्थान दिया जाता है।

आपने सिविल सेवा परीक्षा का ही चयन क्यों किया?


UPSC Eligibility Criteria

In this article, the complete UPSC eligibility criteria for the IAS exam is explained in detail.

The IAS preparation procedure starts with incurring accurate knowledge on Eligibility criteria for the exam.

IAS Eligibility Overview

IAS Age Limit21 to 32 years
Age relaxationAs per category (mentioned below)
Educational qualification for IASGraduation
NationalityIndian citizens only

IAS Eligibility – UPSC Age Limit

As per the Civil Services Age Limit, the candidate should have completed 21 years as on 1st August 2020 (for the UPSC CSE 2020) and not completed 32 years as on 1st August 2020 i.e., he must have been born not earlier than 2nd August, 1988 and not later than 1st August 1999.

Civil Services Age Limit is an important factor in the Eligibility criteria. Therefore candidates applying for UPSC Exam should check these details properly before filling the online application form.

(Civil Services Age limit relaxations, as discussed below, will apply).

CategoryUPSC Age Limit- Upper RelaxationNumber of Attempts
SC/ST37Unlimited (Up to age limit)
Defence Services Personnel359
Persons with
Benchmark Disability EWS (Economically weaker section)

For details on the physically handicapped category, check the images below:

UPSC Eligibility 2020 - Physically handicapped


As per the IAS Eligibility for Defence Servicemen, the persons Disabled in operations during hostilities with any foreign country or in a disturbed area and released as a consequence thereof have special Civil Services age limit relaxation.

The IAS Eligibility states that in the case of ECOs/SSCOs who have completed an initial period of assignment of 5 years Military Service as on 1st August, 2020 and whose assignment has been extended beyond five years and in whose case the Ministry of Defense issues a certificate that they can apply for civil employment and that they will be released on three months’ notice on selection from the date of receipt of offer of appointment.

IAS Eligibility- Educational Qualification

The various academic requirements as per the IAS Eligibility Criteria are given below:

  • Minimum qualification for UPSC exam: The candidate must hold a degree from Government recognized Universities or possess an equivalent qualification.
  • Candidates who are in their final year or awaiting results are also eligible to appear for UPSC preliminary Examination. All such candidates who are eligible to appear for IAS exams must produce proof of having passed the said examination along with the application for the main IAS examination.
  • Candidates having professional and technical qualifications recognized by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.
  • Medical students who have passed the final year of MBBS, but are yet to complete their internship also have eligibility for IAS. Although, along with the Main Examination application, a certificate of course completion (including internship) from the concerned authority of the University/Institution has to be submitted.

IAS Eligibility- Nationality

For IAS and IPS:

  • Candidate must be a citizen of India

All other Services:

  • Candidate must be either:-
    1. A citizen of India, or
    2. A subject of Nepal, or
    3. A subject of Bhutan, or
    4. A Tibetan refugee who came to India before 1st January 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
    5. A person of Indian origin (PIO) who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Ethiopia, Zaire and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.
  • The candidates belonging to categories (2), (3), (4) and (5) should furnish a certificate of eligibility issued by the Government of India. Such candidates may take the exam before getting the said certificate of eligibility, but he/she would get the offer of appointment only after the certificate has been issued by the Government of India.
  • Point to Note: A person belonging to categories (2), (3) and (4) are not eligible for appointment to the Indian Foreign Service (IFS).

Summary of UPSC eligibility criteria for IAS Exam

Candidates must satisfy the following conditions to be eligible for the UPSC IAS Exam:

Nationality for IAS exam: Must be a citizen of India, a person of Indian origin or a subject of Nepal, Bhutan or Tibet settled in India before 1st January 1962.

Education Qualification for IAS exam: Candidate must hold a Graduate Degree from a recognised University.

UPSC Age limit for IAS exam: Candidate must be a minimum of 21 years of age and must not be more than 32 years of age. 

Category wise UPSC age limit, relaxation and maximum attempts-

  1. General category & EWS: 32 years; 6 attempts
  2. OBC(with certificate): 32 years + 3 years; 9 attempts
  3. Sc/ST: 32 years + 5 years; unlimited attempts
  4. Physically Disabled: 32 years + 10 years; Gen/OBC/Person with Benchmark Disability(EWS category)- 9 attempts & SC/ST unlimited attempts; 
  5. Jammu & Kashmir Domicile: 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST); Number of attempts depends on the reserved category.
  6. Disabled and discharged Defence service personnel: 32 years + 3 years + (3 years, if Gen/OBC OR 5 years, if SC/ST)
  7. Ex-Servicemen Commission Officer: 32 years + 5 years + (3 years, if OBC OR 5 Years, if SC/ST)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *